News and Events

Ucross Announces 2019 Fall Artists in Residence

60 artists across multiple disciplines awarded time, studio space, living accommodations on a 20,000-acre ranch at the foothills of the Bighorn Mountains

Residents include Samita Sinha, Ling Ma, Elissa Schappell, Luzene Hill, Barbara Bosworth, and brothers Daniel & Patrick Lazour

UCROSS, WY—September 26, 2019 — Ucross, a prestigious artist residency program and creative laboratory for the arts, today announced the recipients of its 2019 fall fellowships. Sixty artists (a mix of visual artists, writers, composers, and choreographers) from around the world were selected from nearly 400 applicants to receive the gift of uninterrupted time, studio space, and living accommodations in Wyoming’s majestic High Plains. Residencies range from two to six weeks with no cost to the artist.

Musical siblings Daniel & Patrick Lazour, composer and vocal artist Samita Sinha, writers Ling Ma and Elissa Schappell, photographer Barbara Bosworth, and Ucross Native American Fellowship Recipient Luzene Hill (Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians) are among the distinguished artists visiting Ucross in the Fall 2019 season. Alumni include Billy Porter, Colson Whitehead, Yaa Gyasi, Annie Proulx, Terry Tempest Williams, Elizabeth Gilbert, Ann Patchett, Ricky Ian Gordon, Adam Guettel, and Joy Harjo. The artists will work across a diverse range of creative disciplines, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, music, dance, painting, mixed-media, and sculpture, among others.

Ucross has an extensive list of prestigious partners. The fall residency session includes artists coming to Ucross through partnerships with the Alley Theatre, The Ford Family Foundation, the Herb Alpert Award for the Arts, the Marion International Fellowship for the Visual and Performing Arts, the Dramatists Guild of America, and the PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel.

“Welcoming new artists to our program is a joy every fall,” said Ucross President Sharon Dynak. “We have seen first-hand what the gift of time and space can bring to creative effort and experimentation. Now in our thirty-sixth year, we are pleased to host a range of artists at the height of their creative powers.”

Ucross was founded in 1981 by Raymond Plank. It has provided more than 2,000 residencies to some of the world’s most accomplished artists. Located in northeastern Wyoming at the foothills of the Bighorn Mountains, the artist residency program is situated on a historic 20,000-acre ranch at the confluence of three creeks in Ucross, population 25. Its connection to the land, its vast open spaces, and its view of the contemporary American west have proven to be inspirational and uniquely generative for artists.

Ucross has been home to 10 Pulitzer Prize winners, eight MacArthur “genius” grantees, seven Tony Award winners, six National Book Award winners, two Academy Award winners, and an Emmy Award winner. Through its residencies, partnerships, and support of emerging artists, it continues to have an impact on the cultural dialogue of the country and the world.  

The Fall 2019 list includes artists who hail from 21 different states throughout the U.S., and Australia. Ten artists are in residence at one time, typically a mix of four visual artists, four writers, and two composers. They experience an inspiring combination of solitude and community with expansive time for private work, amid lively exchanges at group dinners with fellow artists. Facilities include four visual arts studios, four writer’s studios, and two composer’s studios, each with an electronic keyboard and baby grand piano. There is also an Elephant etching press for printmakers and a large loft space suitable for dance and theatre collaborations.

"So often the act of creation feels like biking into a fierce headwind, invisible forces massed against you as you struggle for each foot forwards,” said composer and Ucross alumni Taylor Ho Bynum. “At Ucross, suddenly it is reversed; the wind is at your back and you glide along, almost aloft, heading towards your destination faster than you could have imagined.”

The full list of fall 2019 artists in residence follows: 

Literature: Sara Alaica, Ivy Anderson, Devon Angus, Ian Bassingthwaighte, Amy C. Beal, Brenda Coultas, Jamie Ford, Leanne Gilbertson, Gabriela Halas, Jamie Harrison, Sophie He, Sarah LaBrie, Ling Ma, Kailyn McCord, James Nottage, Kate Osterloh, Tom Paine, Elissa Schappell, Alyssa Songsiridej, Juan Alvarado Valdivia, Vint Virga, S. Kirk Walsh, Marlys West, Robert Wilder

Music/Dance: John Atkinson, Laura Gibson, Jody D. Kuehner, Daniel Lazour, Larry Polansky, Andrew Schneider, Samita Sinha, Shannon Stewart, Lu Yim, Zack Zadek

Visual: Martirene Alcántara, Barbara Bosworth, Teresa Booth Brown, Trine Bumiller, Andrée B. Carter, Santiago Cohen, William Coupon, Brittney Denham, Tallmadge Doyle, Noah Greene, Christine Hiebert, Luzene Hill, Jennie Kiessling, Joanne Lefrak, Christina McPhee, Satoko Motouji, William O’Brian, Vanessa Renwick, Terri Rolland, Lee Emma Running, Alexander Stewart, Aaron Treher

Theatre: Robert Askins, Vichet Chum, Arthur Jolly, Claire Kiechel, Patrick Lazour, Molly Beach Murphy, Hanna Lea Novak